HCC welcomes new President, Claire Shanahan

February 19, 2018
Latest News

Longstanding HCC President Kent Heazlett stood down at the Hawkesbury Canoe Classic AGM on 15 February 2018 after 17 years of service. Claire Shanahan was elected President, Doug Rosser was elected Honorary Treasurer and Joy Carter as Honorary Secretary.

Arrow Chairman Mark O’Hara shares his heartfelt gratitude in this personal note of thanks to Kent:

“I would like to congratulate you on your stewardship of this amazing annual event over the last 17 years. The fact that it has challenged thousands of people and raised millions of dollars can be directly related to you and your leadership of the hardworking committee.

My first encounters with you were at the time when my good mate Greg Neate was battling leukaemia and you visited him in hospital. You also attended Greg’s funeral after he lost that battle.

My first experience paddling down the Hawkesbury was in 1999 so my involvement spans your presidency. Two of the things I look forward to most each year is catching up with you and your family at the start, and then meeting you along the river and hearing you chat with one and all as you paddle. Your enthusiasm is infectious. One of the highlights in all the years that I have paddled was certainly the year we paddled together in my Mirage 730.

I know that Claire and the newly elected Committee will continue to do an amazing job of organising the event and carrying on the wonderful tradition of the HCC, but the legacy you have created over the last 17 years will make that task easier.

Thank you Kent and wish you luck this year as you prepare for HCC 25.”

We thank Kent for his tremendous commitment and contribution to medical research and patient support; and look forward to working with Claire and the newly elected Committee to continue to improve patient outcomes.

Upcoming Events